Revival (Updated)

This blog wasn’t very active in 2013. I made a total of two posts, one of which was a wishlist which was wholly unfulfilled, and the other a total dud prediction.

As I was going through my drafts folder as part of my routine end-of-semester cleaning, I found a ton of, well, drafts in it. While most of them were just a couple paragraphs of observation on some odd matter from here or there, I did find a couple of really nice gems hidden in there. Publishable ones at that, or at least more so than the last one that I did.

When I’d started blogging back in 2012, I had a news blog, in which I covered the biggest happenings in tech. That was a little bit too much for me, and began to affect my studies too. So when I started this one last year, I pledged to go the other way round and never ever right about news at all, and focus entirely on op-eds. That approach had it’s own set of problems, though. I became increasingly picky as to what I let on, and gradually, with the pace picking up after my second piece bombed, procrastination took over. This isn’t something entirely new to me too.

As a certain wise man has said, the best way to look at a problem really is in retrospect.

So this year, I’ve decided to blend my two earlier approaches with a dab of something new: A quota, to publish at least 100 original articles throughout the year, working out to two a week on average. Expect the first of these as soon as the next few days.

At the same time, I plan on linking to more pieces I like from now on too. Hopefully, this path is something that I manage to continue on, and produce some good content for you enjoy and ponder upon.

Thanks for the patience with my instability,

Harshil.

Update (19:59 IST, January 4, 2014): Late last night, at about a half past one, TechCrunch ran this story, reporting the acquisition of SnappyLabs by Apple. This is a piece of news that I have greatly anticipated for quite some time now – I published my original thoughts on SnappyCam exactly 5 months ago to the day. Aside from the implications of this for future and current iPhones, since the magic of SnappyCam is entirely in the software, knowing that half of all my posts last year wasn’t really a “total dud” is a great burden to finally get off of my shoulders. I’d also like to congratulate John Papandriopoulos on the big news. I now expect even greater things from future iPhone cameras.


You can follow or get in touch with me via Twitter, or subscribe to my hopefully more active RSS feed.

